This Sunday I could make a little time to visit the Ultima Fortaleza, the game club I’ve got near. And I also made some time for a game! I played my “first” 40K game. It is the first with these rules and codex anyways. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever played more than one or two games with each new edition (either rules or Marines codex).

Anyway, there’s a tournament coming up so that gave me the excuse to buy the new book. Yeah, I do hate tournaments, but I want to support the club somehow.

I did not really play, since a guy there was teaching me the ropes and he actually did most of the playing. My marines faced some chaos marines from one of the club owners. It was a bit of fun and I did get to know the rules a bit more (as well as take a few pics). It’s surprising how veteran players know their special rules a lot more than the most basic ones, like joining a combat or how many strikes a unit does in hand to hand.

The teaching player was quite friendly, but he was more interested in teaching me how to win (with the tournament coming) than the basic rules of the game. Like I said, it was quite fun nevertheless and I also brought some of the club’s scenery home to paint and give them a hand (it’s the moonscape set from GW… basically craters).

Well, not much more to report except for the few pics I took. Oh yeah, the game was a tie, with each army controlling one objective. Lists were about 1000 points.

